Tuesday, March 4, 2008

India win the Commonwealth Bank series defeated Australia

BRISBANE: India win the Commonwealth Bank series.

Praveen Kumar was the most successful bowler who picked up 4 wickets.

India created history by notching up their first-ever cricket tri-series title on Australian soil by pipping the world champions by nine runs in a nail-biting second finals which saw fortune fluctuating from one team to the other till the very end.

After scoring a competitive 258 for nine largely built around Sachin Tendulkar's majestic 91, the Indians held their nerves in the tense dying moments to stop the Australians at 249 with two balls to spare and wrap up the best-of-three finals with a 2-0 margin.

It was a remarkable display by the Indians who not only conquered the mighty Australians in their own den but brought about a happy ending to a turbulent tour, marked by a racism row involving Harbhajan Singh and a series of on-field bickerings.

The Indians had entered the tri-series finals in 1986, 1992 and 2004 but had never managed to win a single match but made amends for their past failures with the thrilling win at the Gabba.

Paceman S Sreesanth dismissed James Hopes in the very last over to bring India's moment of glory, triggering scenes of wild celebrations among the players as they hugged each other.



Daniel said...

it wasnt sreesanth... but irfan pathan who bowled the last over... go IRFAN!!!

SEO Services Consultants said...

Nice information, many thanks to the author. It is incomprehensible to me now, but in general, the usefulness and significance is overwhelming. Thanks again and good luck! Web Design Company

rocky case said...

Stephen Stapinski

Really your blog is very interesting.... it contains great and unique information. I enjoyed to visiting your blog. It's just amazing.... Thanks very much for the share.